HomeSportArgentina wins the World Cup in Qatar 2022 in a penalty shootout

Argentina wins the World Cup in Qatar 2022 in a penalty shootout

Argentina was crowned champion of the Qatar 2022 World Cup by beating France in a series of penalties in one of the most exciting matches of the World Cup, with dangerous actions on both sides and with a definition of a heart attack.

In the first half, France was the team that began to propose the actions, but after a few minutes, Argentina sat down on the field and was able to repel the attacks and enter the rival area. At minute 22, Angel Di María fell in the area, and Ousmane Dembelé committed the penalty that Lionel Messi ultimately converted into the first in the final.

Argentina wins the World Cup
Argentina wins the World Cup

Just 10 minutes later, a sensational counterattack with pure touch allowed Di María himself to score the second of the match. The technical director Didier Deschamps made several substitutions before the defeat, however, the game went to rest 2-0 in favor of the Argentines.

The second half passed with Argentina controlling the spaces, calmly and waiting for time to pass, when France was not able to find the spaces for the discount, even worse for the tie. The changes on both sides did not have much effect and the game entered the final minutes with the same score.

However, the French star Mbappé converted a penalty made by Nicolás Otamendi, and a few minutes later the tie was scored by Mbappé himself, surprising all and sundry, it was 2-2 with 6 minutes to go. The game had to go into extra time.

The first extra time went by with both teams taking great care of each other, Argentina dominated at times, but the goal did not come. The prize reached 110, and a great shot by Lautaro Martínez was controlled by goalkeeper Hugo Lloris, Leo Messi scored his seventh goal of this edition on the rebound and the 3-2 win for the albiceleste.

With 3 minutes to go, Mbappé got a new penalty, it was 3-3 in extra time and the penalties settled the new champion.

The two referents Messi and Mbappé scored the first penalty, respectively.

However, Kingsley Coman missed for France, while Paulo Dybala increased the score for the Albicelestes, and Aurélien Tchouaméni missed again for the Gauls. Leandro Paredes put Argentina one more ahead.

The French Randal Kolo Muani scored his penalty in the shootout, however, the one that won Argentina, and with which they are crowned Qatar 2022 champion, was scored by Gonzalo Montiel.

Argentina achieved its three-time championship, it was champion in 1978, and 1986, and this edition Qatar 2022, the podium is completed by runner-up France, and Croatia with the bronze medal and the always honorable fourth place of Morocco.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here